La Semana Santa

This week saw me heading off back home for a few days! Having seen some pictures of the Easter processions made me very happy in my choice to come home, they look bloody scary and very similar to images of the KKK. (I need to google the masks and outfits they wear to find out why there is this similarity!)

Holy Week in Valladolid

Holy Week in Valladolid

Anyhow, moving on from scary mask people! I had the first weekend of the holidays on my own in the flat as my flatmates had all gone home; I took advantage of this and finished all my Easter homework (definitely wasn’t gonna be doing that at home), spring-cleaned the flat and went for a walk in the 25 degree heat (again, wasn’t going to be like that at home). The aim was ‘get a tan before you go home’ to prove to people that yes, I have been living in Spain for the past 2 and a half months. Amazingly, it worked and I came home a shade darker than my usual pale whiteness.

So, Monday I took the 3 hour bus journey to Madrid airport and started getting excited about the prospect of seeing my friends and family. I’m not usually a nervous flyer but following the Malaysian Airlines tragedy, it was safe to say I was a little panicky. Sitting on my own on my row without a window (Typically I was on that one row on the plane with no window) I started worrying when I heard two boys getting on the plane saying “I’m a bit nervous about this flight”, then the air hostess announced to the passengers, after having already done the safety part, that the life jackets were situated above our heads, oh and then the seatbelt light came back on halfway through the flight and we weren’t going through turbulence. I panicked and the only thought going through my mind was that if we were going to crash, I couldn’t even see anything for the lack of window! After an incredibly bad and bumpy landing I arrived. Thank goodness.

Cutest thing ever when I was back home was seeing my sister charge towards me and leap on me! “It feels like I’ve not seen you in 5 years!” Slight over-exaggeration from Katie there haha, but still felt true! I spent the following few days having a meal out with some friends, a much needed Starbucks catch-up and seeing my family. The little time I had back home flew by so fast and before I knew it, I was packing to go to Belgium on Saturday. This was for baby Mia’s Christening on Easter Sunday and I was so excited to get to see my Belgian beauties again. I was there for less than 48 hours but still managed to fit in watching La Reine de Neige (Frozen) and One Direction’s film, oh yes 😉 The Christening was a lovely day and as it was included with the Easter Church Service, I had to concentrate to understand all the French so you know, some could say it was educational too!!

Emma and I

Emma and I

 

My Belgian girls

My Belgian girls

Mia and I

Mia and I

My next trip will be in a weeks’ time when I go to Madrid for my friend Joanna’s 21st birthday celebrations; it should be like when we all went to Paris for Matt’s birthday last term as quite a lot of us from Uni are making the journey. It’s a perfect time too as it will probably be the last time I see everyone before 4th year! Then a couple of weeks later my sister is coming to visit me and I am SO EXCITED! For now, I just need to get over the homesickness!

 Besos x

Leave a comment